ECOC is an annual conference devoted to optical communications and associated fields that provides a major international forum for the presentation, exchange and circulation of scientific and technical information on the progress of Research and Development in this field.
ECOC is managed by a European Management Committee (EMC) while the technical programme is decided by a Technical Programme Committee (TPC).
The conference is organised by a local Organising Committee (LOC).

The European Management Committee (EMC) of ECOC was established to promote and co-ordinate the organisation of European Conference on Optical Communication (ECOC) annual series.

European Management Committee (EMC) members

  • Antonella Bogoni, Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies-CNIT, Italy
  • Peter Andrekson Chalmers -  University of Technology, Sweden
  • Jose Capmany -  Universitat Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
  • Jörg-Peter Elbers - ADVA AG Optical Networking, Germany
  • Ronald Freund - Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute, Germany
  • Piero Gambini - STMicroelectronics, Italy
  • Jean-Pierre Hamaide - III-V Lab, France
  • Ton Koonen - COBRA TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Christian Lerminiaux - University of Technology of Troyes, France
  • Juergen Leuthold - ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Leif Katsuo - Oxenløwe Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • David Richardson - ORC - University of Southampton, UK
  • Will Stewart - University of Southampton, UK
  • Peter Van Daele  - IMEC - Ghent University, Belgium


International Advisory Committee (IAC) members

  • Simon Fleming - University of Sydney, Australia
  • Pat Iannone, Nokia Bell Labs, USA
  • Jintong Lin - Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China
  • Toshio Morioka - Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Clint Schow - University of California, Santa Barbara, USA